Freedom From, Not Freedom To

17 Aug

“It’s funny how…when you first start out you make these steps and you think, ‘yeah, wow, I’m putting whole cream in my coffee, this is crazy, I can’t believe I’m doing this,’ then you fast forward two years later and you’re, uh, putting a half of a bar of grass-fed butter in your coffee…”

-Dr. Colin Champ of CavemanDoctor.com on episode 599 of the Livin’ La Vida Low-Carb Show podcast by Jimmy Moore

Truth be told, I have only been eating a Paleo diet for about a week and a half.  But in the past few weeks I have been consuming as much inormation as possible about this incredible movement.

The Bulletproof coffee recipe is what made me give Paleo a second look.  I rejected it months ago after reading some random posts by people trying to acquire blood to eat and I thought, “these Paleo people are nuts.”  But after two friends in two days told me about Bulletproof coffee, I ended up reading content from the Paleo blogosphere, and everything began to sound more, well, sound.

My diet began to change radically toward the end of 2011.  I started at vegetarian, telling people that my body doesn’t like animal protein much (I don’t even know where I came up with that one).  Then I supplemented with fish and played around with raw foodism.  Once I discovered the Weston A. Price Foundation and learned about the anti-nutrients in plant foods, I turned to traditional food preparation techniques and began sprouting and fermenting foods as well as acquiring raw dairy.  I even began making my own spelt sourdough bread with a wild yeast starter for a minute.

I do not believe Paleo is the end-all-be-all, but it offers a strong and practical theory of diet.  Although it may seem restrictive to individuals on the Standard American Diet, to me it is all about freedom.  I may not have the freedom to eat ice cream and fast food, but adopting an ancestral diet will allow me freedom from things like digestive discomfort, chronic disease, fear of terminal illness, sugar addiction, the negative experience of blood sugar dysregulation, existing in a constant state of moody hunger, and being overweight.

Eating according to my evolutionary adaptations affords me the freedom to live in a harmonious, homeostatic animal body.  I don’t want to fight against my nature anymore.  it’s impossible to win anyhow.

Life in its fullness is Mother Nature obeyed.

-Dr. Weston A. Price

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

